The Southern Expat Communique: New York observations of a displaced belle


Dine in Brooklyn!!
18 March 11, 4:34 pm
Filed under: Brooklyn Bridge, Dine in Brooklyn, DUMBO, food, parks, subway, things I see, weather

For everyone who loves food and loves Brooklyn, mark your calendars for a foodstravaganza called Dine in Brooklyn, affectionately known as Restaurant Week to many: 21-31 March!

Three restaurants in my ‘hood, DUMBO, are featured:

  • Water Street Restaurant (with a deliciously Southernish-geared menu)
  • The River Cafe (which I cannot afford without mortgaging a kidney)
  • Bubby’s Brooklyn (bring your fleet of 9 children and your patience!)

Lots of other great fare in other great neighborhoods will be featured, and thank god there is no train service planned for the F line. Woot woot! I’m sure I’ll be kicking myself for that statement in the very near future. I feel the tourists and residents of other boroughs who “miss trees” will be flooding DUMBO soon. I’ll not be able to walk on my own sidewalk in a matter of days. Alas, that’s the price you pay for living in a fabulous neighborhood on the waterfront. Happy weekend, everyone!! xoxo

view from DUMBO

Trees featured in this photo formerly resided in Empire Fulton Ferry State Park in DUMBO, Brooklyn. They were “removed” (read: cut down) to make room for Jane’s Carousel, “a gift to the park.” Thanks for the “gift,” Jane, I preferred the weeping willows.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

