The Southern Expat Communique: New York observations of a displaced belle


non-traditional tradition makes me happy
22 July 11, 1:22 pm
Filed under: ACLU, Brooklyn, Episcopal, friends, gay, Only in New York, parades, speak up!

With the Marriage Equality Act set to take effect on Sunday, 24 July, granting all New York couples the right to marry, I’m absolutely ecstatic to call myself a New Yorker! This weekend, 823 gay couples will say “I will” or “I do” thanks to the New York legislature seeing the light a month ago. That’s right, the stars are aligning for my Liza Minnelli loving friends, and I’m tickled pink about it. It’s truly a victory for individual couples, marriage equality, and human rights. Here’s a story about how a few couples will celebrate this monumental victory. Here’s a link to what the ACLU is doing to advance LGBT rights. And here’s why I’m proud to be a Brooklyn Episcopalian.

To all of you tying the knot on Sunday, mazel tov!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

